Poets logo

lapsed taste of time

before departure

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
5
Photo by Chris Howell on Unsplash

my house started giving off a different smell

since I got used to the thought of leaving

on a journey I never wanted

yet today it seems like I’m obliged to embark on it

to leave the storm inside and out of me

that will be all about it

palpitations and twisted brain coils

in the place where

senseless screams of seagulls, humans, and engines

mean only one thing

you can never stay sober here

usually intoxicated en masse

inhaling, imbibing, intricate inversed ink

to the one I breathe

always away from annoyance

with my taste buds concerned

pangs of perseverance pervading

visual and auditory triggers

stimulating tactile sensations

the ones that you can never see

if you are exposed long enough

to forget everything

at one time interval

occurring from time to time

to remind you that you belong

no matter how hard you tried

to get rid of the sense of familiarity

replaced by hostility

in your own jacal

I think it’s time to go back

***

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

surreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryinspirational
5

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.