Poets logo

Lantern

Words Of My Life

By Dan R FowlerPublished 6 months ago 1 min read

Lantern

Sitting alone with little to do and nothing to say,

I ponder the life I’ve lived, and my purpose thus far.

Could it have been lived in a less creative way,

Rather than to have written my stories each day.

Some have pointed their fingers in defiance,

Others less critical, saluted my compliance.

It is said that for others to see who we are,

We must open our souls and allow dreams to soar.

If it’s my dreams that keep people at bay,

Those who shun and speak words that decay,

Then it’s a far better place that I seek to discover,

Using words carries me away from all that discolor.

If I can’t be the person that I’ve become,

‘Ore the years that they’ve all but left me alone.

Then what have I accomplished in word or deed,

That would satisfy the masses or plant a new seed?

In this life, I’ve traveled from yonder places,

From a world filled with words, and stories to embrace.

So for me, this one thing I can proclaim,

That my mind’s stories will always remain.

So, like yesterday, I’ll carry my lantern,

With words that help those who need to turn,

From the darkness that holds them from the truth,

Even though they’re old and no longer a youth.

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.