Poets logo

Language

"The limits of my language mean the limits of my world." Ludwig Wittgenstein

By PPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Language
Photo by Nora Hutton on Unsplash

You know what the most limiting thing in this world is? Language. It falls short-- Alone it doesn't have the capability to effectively translate, Yet the more you know the easier it becomes, Where one language doesn't, another most certainly does-- So you can become creative, You can overlap, You can create content that creates context that creates visions! you Can fill the gaps!-- Yet even then the

-Too specific

--Too certain

---Too powerful

The emotions that ask almost too much can not just be written-- without the life experience words are just a pretty picture-- And it is in this picture that the gaps are All knowing, Ever present-- It's where I laugh at my own joke, Just to hear you chuckle along when nobody else does-- It's where I dance without a care, Just to open my eyes and see you smiling when I'm clearly offbeat-- There isn't enough

--Books

---Movies

----Music

Art!

To describe the moment you realize that words never prepared you for this, Their inadequacy, umph, it's almost laughable!-- Give me a thousand songs, Another thousand in stories, With a thousand of the world's best pieces of artwork-- And then, only then, can we start to piece together that first second of Seeing you-- just You-- And then let me tell you now in every language I know And in the future with every language I will come to know

That if I loved you less, I might be able to find enough words

social commentary
2

About the Creator

P

A vision without action is just a dream

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.