Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Lake Skating

Smooth challenge 2023. Recycles “Spring I” & “Spring II” (~2019).

By Elisabeth BalmonPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
4
Lake Skating
Photo by Bruce Christianson on Unsplash

The red flags mark where not to swim,

but do they apply if I only plan to skate?

Perhaps I am just looking for an excuse to drown.

Like a warm knife in butter,

I glide sweetly on the surface.

I slip

but remain careful not to puncture

the frozen barrier.

How simple it is to toe-loop jump across

this thin ice, stretched over a churning sea,

The dark lake always in motion.

Some attempt ice fishing,

so I must shoo them away.

If we stay only at the surface,

then there will never be fish.

I can not look at the ice

or else I would see them swimming.

The fishermen pack up their things.

Soon the bunny hop and salchow are not enough,

I rapidly learn the flip and lutz.

Pretend not to notice how the toe pick bleeds.

The beads, running across the ice, are

held together by immense surface tension.

It’s a triple axel when

He tells me he would love to lock me in a storage container.

Since when has it been unsafe to skate on pond ice?

If climate change is not real, I have nothing to worry over.

I do not prepare for the thaw.

I fear that I will die in the spring .

When I do not bloom

with the rest of the temperate north ,

when I am not

the temperate north at all .

I fear that I will die in the spring ,

when I am an arctic storm

on their summer’s day.

I fear that I will die in the spring ,

natural and inevitable .

That will be my time.

Spring and summer pass.

Waves lap at a sunlit shore.

The ice, a bittersweet memory.

I always thought I would die in the spring,

but here I am

sitting in green grass

as the wind blows ,

as the birds chirp ,

and squirrels run across my feet .

And maybe I did die in the spring.

A child sits next to me

and blows bubbles .

“Why don’t we just sit

And try to enjoy the view, son.”

sad poetryCONTENT WARNING
4

About the Creator

Elisabeth Balmon

sometimes I write almond themed poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    This sounds so much like my thoughts lately, life/death, questions, waking every day to a new day. I do feel like i am skating on thin ice. Metaphors or real life, how can we tell. This is lovely.

  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    This took an interesting twist. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.