Poets logo

Lady of the Night Sky:

Narrative Poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Lady of the Night Sky:
Photo by Sonia Nadales on Unsplash

I the woman who fell, from the

sky-

One evening,

Deemed

oh lady of the night sky

My name is Hala Skye,

like an aura of light ,

surrounding the full moon

A daughter of Eve—

Would love find me less appealing

If they could peel back my skin?

To reveal the fused bones underneath

My arms out reached,

like branches curved downward deep,

by soil creep.

If they could touch the scar tissue on my brain?

If their fingertips were

blanched white,

from my scorched heart.

If my lungs were tarred,

from all the drags, not taken in

If my hallow eyes sockets

Left my eyes bulged,

detaches corneas,

like cherry liquorish

I am not such a treat

A ghoulish site,

with my batwings, I take flight

Feasting,

on fruits in the moonlight...

Cavernous wanderlust

Hangs like calcite,

from the peak of a cave.

I, turn children’s faces’

pale sheet of white.

Carve into my flesh, and

hallow my insides.

Strike a match

Watch my eyes aglow,

translucent like glass.

My lantern lit eyes,

Beam bright

o’lantern eyes

Fire in my breath

O’jack

one swig, and I am transfixed

Tricky,

witches scribe.

Superstitious, as a black cat-

Cob webs mingle in the corners

In hand,

a straw broom,

scrapes, dust from the threshold of

our home

The sands of time atone

Haram

I, befell the earth,

the clouds my home;

my salty tears

quench

thirsty crops

I,

the bearer of corn

My choices like seeds...

the seeds I have sown

I the woman who fell, from the

sky-

One evening,

Deemed

oh lady of the night sky.

That’s my conundrum!

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.