Poets logo

Lack-of-Self Awareness

a shadow poem

By Joelle EšŸŒ™Published 11 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
3
Lack-of-Self Awareness
Photo by Tanya Trofymchuk on Unsplash

I have lack-of-self awareness

Thatā€™s what makes me sick

Out of everyone to have this shit

Iā€™m just the one Iā€™d pick

ā€¢

But knowing that itā€™s there

Doesnā€™t make it any better

I know enough of me to know

Iā€™m accurate to the letter

ā€¢

Knowing that youā€™re no one

Doesnā€™t help you grow

Knowing that you feel alone

Is a useless thing to know

ā€¢

I know none of itā€™s true of course

But therein lies the trick

When youā€™re aware you lack yourself

Itā€™s what you feel that sticks

ā€¢

The only thing i have

Is a razor-sharp mind

I see in them what people donā€™t

I see it all the time

ā€¢

But turn that laser onto me and it gets a lot less constructive

Now I see my PhD is not fucking productive

ā€¢

Knowing that youā€™re no one

Doesnā€™t help you grow

Knowing that you feel alone

Is a useless thing to know

ā€¢

I know none of itā€™s true of course

But therein lies the trick

When youā€™re aware you lack yourself

Itā€™s what you feel that sticks

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Joelle EšŸŒ™

There is gold in every piece of your story āœØ

šŸ“ Find me on Medium

ā­ļø Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    To be aware of having a lack of self-awareness is (I would say) the next level of self-awareness. Hyper-self-awareness? Or does it have too many hyphens? Maybe, omniself-awareness? 'Now I see my PhD is not fucking productive' - oh no, I hope it's just a figure of speech and it goes all well for you! If not, just know that you're not alone on this seemingly non-productive journey:-D

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.