Poets logo

Label-Clad

Finding Me

By Sissi SmithPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3

Even before my birth, it began.

“It’s a boy!” they declared, hues of blue on hand.

Upon my grand entrance, their mistake now clear.

From the original course they most certainly did veer.

The male label ditched and a new one affixed.

A declaration of “Girl” and a pink bunny were hitched.

Personality began to form,

Not quite meeting the norm.

“Gifted”, they’d say.

“Spoiled” when things weren’t my way.

Teachers, some loved me.

“A joy!”

“Amazing!”

Others just endured me.

“A slob!”

“So lazy!”

My peers simply jeered.

“Fat.”

“Freckled.”

“Weird!”

Then came the workplace.

Where some saw “Meticulous”,

Others deemed “Ridiculous.”

My love life? Yikes!

Him? Her? Or them?

The labels were lobbed before I found comfort in my skin.

The years rolled by.

Designations multiplied.

The weight of them all became more than I could abide.

Shirking them all,

I stumble. I fall,

On the quest for authenticity.

Unearthing what fits indubitably.

The only one that matters.

The one that reads “Me”.

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Sissi Smith

Facebook~Insta~TikTok

Creators I love:

Michelle * Mike * Rick * Dharrsheena * Babs * Keila * Cathy * Jason * Joe * Dawn

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I found this to be very relatable. Very beautifully written

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Love your talented word flow. The motion portrays emotion. Great poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.