Poets logo

La Vie En Bleu

Ekphrastic Poetry

By Rebecca A Hyde GonzalesPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
2
La Vie En Bleu
Photo by Solen Feyissa on Unsplash

The artist is a receptacle for emotions that come

from all over the place: from the sky, from the

earth, from a scrap of paper, from a passing

space, from a spider's web."

- Pablo Picasso, Conversation (1935), an interview with Daniel-Henry Kahnweiler, quoted in Chipp, Theories of Modern Art, p. 271.

"The Old Guitarist," 1903-04, One of Picasso's most famous paintings, it is displayed at the Art Institute of Chicago. It is a part of the Helen Birch Bartlett Memorial Collection. The Art Institute of Chicago and jacquelinemhadel.com, PD-US, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=31832131

My Father's Blues

It happens every time I come across

The blue painting with the blind man

Hunched over and wrapped around his guitar.

*

I see my father hunched over in despair

Having lost his ability to speak

And share his thoughts.

*

His guitar, still strung and in-tune

Leans into the corner next to his bed -

Longing to be strummed by the warm

Hands of a gentle man.

Inspiration for the poem "La Vie En Bleu"

Carles Antoni Cosme Damià Casagemas i Coll was a Spanish painter and poet. He is known for his friendship with Pablo Picasso, who painted several portraits of Casagemas. They traveled around Spain and eventually to Paris, where they lived together in a vacant studio. (Wikipedia)

Pablo Picasso (Spanish, 1881-1973), Le Repas de l'aveugle (The Blind Man's Meal), 1903, Oil on canvas, 95.3 x 94.6cm, New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Purchase Mr. and Mrs. Ira Haupt, Gift 1950, Photo: 2017, The Metropolitan Museum of Art / Art Resource / Scala, Florence

La Vie En Bleu

The blue man can't stare back at me,

Yet I feel piercing eyes tearing into

My heart weeping silently in the blue.

*

My father reaches out and places my

Hand in his - blue warm paint washes

Over me from my own salty pools closed

To the visions of the voiceless and the blind.

*

Picasso's Old Guitarist pulls me into

Melancholy tunes from icy blue mountains

And silver rivers born from winter's snow caps.

*

Not expecting an answer I ask:

"Picasso, why does the blue pull so hard

at my heartstrings?"

*

In the silence, the painting speaks back to me:

"I wept blue into my paints when I learned

Of Casagemas' death."

*

Anguish and despair portrayed on every canvas

The sick, crippled, and hungry transformed:

Elongated figures endowed with haunting

Beauty and supernatural grace.

*

Grief has left us troubled, old friend.

We are fated with suffering and tragedy.

*

Can we escape our fate?

Is there a utopian state of grace?

*

Though blind, inner sight reveals all.

Overwhelmed by misery and mourning -

The universal constancy of pain

*

Casagemas and my father lost

Plunging us into total grief

Turning red and yellow light

To blue melancholy, sadness, and despair.

*

Our forgotten people mise en abyme

Famished spectors of misery -

"La Vie" - an allegory of the cycle

Of existence painted in blue -

One day to give way to something new.

sad poetryheartbreakart
2

About the Creator

Rebecca A Hyde Gonzales

I started writing when I was about eight years old. I love to read and I also love to create. As a writer and an artist, I want to share the things that I have learned and experienced. Genres: Fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and history.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.