Poets logo

La Manche

Poem written for Creative Writing class. Topic: Drowning

By Amanda ReifertPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Original - Loch Ness, SCT '15

La Manche

Black ice slams into my whole

paralyzing my being

blurring my vision

letting me enter the beast

blind and bound

Grotesque shapes threaten

dragging me down

to the depths of the earth

the center of darkness

The shadows morph

into a cage

torturing my mind

clouding my thoughts

erasing my life

The poison seizes my lungs

killing any trace of air

of resistance

or hope

creating

a crushing force beneath my skin

a place in my chest

to the left of my spine

unrelenting

unending

inducing

panic

fear

no

please stop

PLEASE

my muscles give in

allowing the cold to take control

freezing time until it halts

I begin to think

accept

believe again

liquid daggers begin to soothe

a calm settles

I am ready.

CONTENT WARNINGStream of ConsciousnessFree VerseFor Funinspirational
1

About the Creator

Amanda Reifert

Nebraska native, psychology student, novice model, lover of the written word and all things geeky.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.