Poets logo

Knives

A Poem About Arguments

By Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath BooksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Knives
Photo by Afif Kusuma on Unsplash

I give in to your pain

I try to take it away to stop your tears

I watch you helplessly

Hopelessly with a tongue tied in knots

Nothing can be said to ease the agony that plagues you

Plagues me

My bewildered mind can recognize that this cause is lost

That you

That I

That we

Are too far gone

To be brought back

But what is left of my heart still clings

To a blind hope

That I can save you now

Your grief becomes my own as I recall the curses

The ill-willed wishes

Our death so close

So very real

Cast out like a fish from the oceans I gasp for air

For life itself

But with each waning breath

Along comes another stab of woe

Each wound more painful than the last

I exhale these daggers

Slick and silver

Like us

Underrated and forgotten

Sharp and deadly

Razor edged just like my tongue

If either slip, someone gets hurt

Bleeding

Within or out

Both are hard to handle

But their aim precise

My wit, like my knives, cuts either me or one I love

Just like you

You fell prey to my sarcasm

Now I suffer from what I say

Now I experience your pain

Now I know what I have put you through

And now we both fall from grace

From life

You

By my words and your love

I

By your hand and my dagger

I have one last thing to say

One last line

Bet you saw that coming

You would know I need the last word

If you get the last laugh

Ready?

Here's my witty zinger:

I love you and

I'm sorry.

Bet you didn't see that one coming, though.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath Books

I fell in love with speculative fiction and poetry many years ago, but I have precious little time to write any. It was high time I started making Prose and Puns a priority, starting with Purple Poetry, Auqredis, and the World of Noyath.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jennifer Plate VanHoy2 years ago

    This one makes my heart hurt. Beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.