Poets logo

Kintsugi

Healing

By Alexandra SheaderPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

Kintsugi - my scars shine too.

Not gilded in glorious gold,

But in their own quiet palette

Of muted pinks and nudes.

Kintsugi - my scars shine too

They shine to tell you that I’m here.

My bones are cracked and mended

With care and grace.

My scars shine to tell you

That you must handle me gently.

For just under the surface

I am not healed.

Kintsugi - my scars shine too.

They shine to promise you

That I will make myself whole.

And my scars will make me beautiful.

Because they are my scars.

And without them

I would not be the one you love.

I would not know myself.

Kintsugi - my scars shine too

Great in number,

They embrace my form

And tell my story.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Alexandra Sheader

I like to root for the underdog, find the beauty in the weird. Introvert, observer, people watcher, thinker and all round quiet person. But I still have a voice and a unique point of view. Life experience has given me the toughest armour.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.