Poets logo

Killing the Narcissist

And Finding My Mother

By Ellie BeauchampPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
3
Killing the Narcissist
Photo by James Wheeler on Unsplash

Where you gave me love, she had only disdain

When you tried to help me find my own way

She pulled me into her lane

The work you did to mold a daughter who was unique

Was undone by the one who wanted a mini clone.

The music and modifications were tainted with her critiques.

When you wanted to play, she would find a wound

What was meant only as good fun turned into warfare

The food I ate never mattered to you as long as it was being consumed.

But to her it was a blow to her ego

She couldn’t have a daughter that wasn’t a cookie cutout from her dough

The support you gave me in school for my writing

Was overshadowed by her disappointment in my failure of more practical things

My Potential was all she cared about, when you were trying to instill good habits

She wanted a daughter she could live vicariously through

While you wanted a daughter that simply lived.

The military took in a damaged girl and broke her in two

She overshadowed your concern with her bitter resentment

When you tried to warn me of the dangers of people and love,

She found a way to instead kill all of my hope.

You only wanted a daughter who was cared for like you never were.

The mother you wanted to be was always there

But the Narcissist monster was all my childish eyes could see

As an adult my eyes are open and more aware

I understand now that the mother you wanted to be, and the mother I got

Were two separate beings, and it wasn’t entirely your fault.

You were young and new and you did the best you knew how to do

The monster was created from circumstances larger than you.

And now together we have banished the monster, and I have met my true mother

And we can go arm in arm into the next phase of our life.

I am the daughter of a severely damaged but good and loving woman.

And together we’re thriving.

Family
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    This was so poignant. Loved your poem. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    Relatable. Nicely written.

  • Anthony Beauchamp2 months ago

    This sequel to the Narcissist story is a wonderful trip to show redemption can be found anywhere and sometimes we don't always have the full story. Very well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.