Poets logo

killing me slowly

i gave this some thought

By Vincent CotroneoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
killing me slowly
Photo by Sean Brown on Unsplash

Have at my heart with a rusty axe

Allow the pieces to fall to my feet

I will let it happen

Because I feel no pain

Take the air from my lungs

Press on my chest with a block of stone

I will let it happen

Because I have no more to say

Take the colors away from my soul

Drain my eyes with the blinding sun

I will let it happen

Because the world is always painted black

Corrode my nostrils with the stench of death

Burn the pathways with evil from below

I will let it happen

Because I always smell the fire

Take my grasp away

I’ll be nothing but a stump

I will let it happen

Because I am done clinging for my life

If this surprises you

For that I am sorry

The moon has buried the morning

The sun will rise no more

Take me into your world

I find comfort in the silence

My eyes are forever closed

What is a nightmare but a distant memory

You may say this is torture

But it is my reward for your punishment

I will let it happen

Because I will see you no more

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.