Poets logo

Kept in the Dark:

In collaboration with Pen Mysteries

By Saroyan ColesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Kept in the Dark:
Photo by Kristel Hayes on Unsplash

Kept in the dark, on where to start?

Sunbeams can still shine

through brokenness of a window

There’s lead in the seal

and in my soles

Standing (all alone)

haunted by past ghosts

like a house

I’m

a broken vessel (all alone)

Stumbling through mistakes like

most

Break loose with all the wrong steps taken to break one’s fall

No amount of scrubbing

can washout the darkness

of my shadow

My fingers are growing numb

I feel awash like a washboard

Fused with scrutiny

of broken dreams

cloudcovered in the dark

Eyes wide open;

break into tears

heavy in thought

strum, strumming, strummer

break with one’s silence of broken-heartedness

Food for thought

break ones word

like

broken promises

break me down

Am I

so easily forgot,

deep in my bones,

is my existentance all for not?

My future unclear,

like breaking new paths

My soul longs for direction, I myself

forbade to go

Decisions, decisions (break free)

lead me out of my tension

life in high wire-

I, mean haywire suspension!

Kept in the dark, on where to start?

Confused in truth,

refused to refute-

Hopeful the sunniest smiles

to match my gaze

Stretch out your hands; of modest wealth

For in deep of the darkest dark

sensible, sincerity, sensitivity

embraces me

not to disembark

Am I

to stand in line waiting,

for a mentor,to motion me

out of the dark?

By Marquise Kamanke on Unsplash

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.