Poets logo

Keep It Real

Informing or just performing?

By Toccara BensonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Keep It Real
Photo by LOGAN WEAVER | @LGNWVR on Unsplash

“Looking at all the protests around in light of recent events,

I felt compelled to unpack some things and here’s my two cents...

It's great to see so many people working together for the same cause,

but it would be unrealistic to think some aren't just doing it for the applause.

Perfomatives we call them. Are they doing this for the greater good?

It’s ok if it furthers progress, but just don't expect accolades for doing what you should.

We’ve BEEN saying #blacklivesmatter now and we’ve been saying it for quite some time.

Personally, I was met with gaslighting, as if life their life experience would be the same as mine.

Some of us are understandably skeptical of “others” that are JUST now seeing our point of view...

I blame it on people being blinded by their privilege... white privilege and financial privilege just to name a few.

There is more work to be done and that's undeniable.

The question is, when #blacklivesmatter is no longer trending will you still be reliable?"

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Toccara Benson

I’m artsy & I like to create various types of content. I have a witty sense of humor but I also have a sentimental side. My first love is poetry, but I do all sorts of creative writing. I hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Toccara Benson is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.