Poets logo

Keep Fighting

WARN: This poem talks about self-harm. Please do not read if you are not in the right headspace.

By Marie HanssenPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Keep Fighting
Photo by Jack Lucas Smith on Unsplash

I can put on a brave face

Say I’m okay

Act like my cheery self

But once that curtain are drawn

And the lights go out

And everyone has left

............................................................

That's when my demons

Wants to come out and play

Play with my emotions

Causing me to pick up the blaze

............................................................

I say this will be the last time

Just another hundred times

Just another hundred scars

Showing the world

I keep fighting, fighting

Fighting to live

Keep fighting to take control

To take control of my demons

............................................................

This is an on going battle

Some days I will win

Some days I will lose

But I keep fighting

............................................................

I learned to hide my emotions

Keep everything inside

And take the blaze to my wrist

To take away the emotional pain

............................................................

I learned to turn the music up

Let it drown my sorrow

Let it drown my emotions

Let it comfort me to sleep

As the blood runs

Down my hand

As the tears keep falling

............................................................

As I say this will be the last time

Just another hundred times

Just another hundred scars

Showing the world

I keep fighting, fighting

Fighting to live

Keep fighting to take control

To take control of my demons

............................................................

This is an on going battle

Some days I will win

Some days I will lose

But I keep fighting

............................................................

I say this will be the last time

Just another hundred times

Just another hundred scars

Showing the world

I keep fighting, fighting

Fighting to live

Keep fighting to take control

To take control of my demons

............................................................

My skin is no longer

My punching bag

My life is no longer

Controlled by my demons

My body is no longer

My worse enemy

But, my science experiment

As I build myself up, up

............................................................

I will lift my own spirits

Be the butterfly that I am

I hold my own hand

I can show this world

That I am stronger

Then any demon thrown my way

............................................................

This is an on going battle

Some days I will win

Some days I will lose

But I keep fighting

sad poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MHWritten by Marie Hanssen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.