Poets logo

Katlyn in London is the new "Emily in Paris"

A poetic tale about an American girl moving to London.

By Katlyn CampbellPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
View from Greenwich Park

During university, I studied abroad which was amazing I profess.

If you ask me to go back my answer will surely be a yes.

Which is why I applied to King’s College London I must confess.

A Master’s degree I believe will be a great success.

-

This is my dream that much is known.

And if someone tells me it cannot be done I will honestly just groan.

I will turn the other way and say póg mo thóin!

Cause be it scholarship or a rather large loan.

I will pursue my education, which will be a great milestone.

-

But giving up I did not, not once and not yet.

My mom was my encouragement my giant safety net.

The day I found out the answer was a yes I will truly never forget.

And finally, I can say I am ready and I am set.

-

And the day came where I called my mom on the phone.

I told her the decision was a yes, and her mind was blown.

Thinking of the year ahead can be nerve-wracking as I’ll be on my own.

But it’s time to get ready, be brave, and face the unknown.

-

September has come and I must go, time to board my flight.

And jetlag is difficult because here I am- awake at twilight.

Arizona to London is a big change, as what’s missing? The sunlight!

I still don’t understand Celsius, I’m used to Fahrenheit.

But a walk along the Thames, the city shines like starlight,

And in the words of Frank Sinatra, nothing is more beautiful than “London by Night”

-

The Globe theater of William Shakespeare the great playwright.

Who wrote Romeo & Juliet, Hamlet, and even Twelfth Night.

And talks old English with words like fortnight.

The actors were sublime and as they exit stage right.

The crowd gives a great cheer as the show was a delight.

-

But rush hour on the Tube about gave me a fright.

Cause here on the underground please hold tight.

Someone to my left, someone to my right.

“Mind the closing doors” we’re packed in tight!

-

There’s no turning back, not even in the slight.

Time for my new adventure to begin so sit tight.

I look out the windows and see a building tall and white.

The announcement came on and said King’s College London please alight.

-

To be in a new city I feel butterflies as something in me does excite.

But my decision to come here I know was right.

To pursue your dreams is hard to do but I’ll give it a chance, and achieve them I just might.

Although I’m nervous about the dissertation I’ll have to write.

I know in my heart everything will be alright.

-

My decision is something I do not regret,

And I thank all the wonderful friends I have met.

You have been so incredible and my time here I’ll never forget.

And one thing I’ve learned… is that if you’re hungry in London do not fret.

Because if you look around the corner you’ll always find another Pret!

You can take the girl out of Arizona, but you can't take Arizona out of the girl.

Thank you so much for reading my rhyme!

I hope you enjoyed it and I appreciate your time.

And if you're inclined please send me a dime.

Peggy Porschen Cakes, Belgravia

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Katlyn Campbell

Traveler. Teacher. Poet. Writer. Photographer.

Inspired by the places I've called home 🇺🇸🇮🇪🇰🇷🇬🇧🇮🇹🇫🇷

IG: @katlyn.campbell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.