Poets logo

K-Karen?

Coffee Shop Poem

By McKenzie McQuadePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
K-Karen?
Photo by Gian Cescon on Unsplash

Dear Coffee Shop Barista,

May haps I ask your name or instead tragically assume your name is Theresa

Just in the same fashion regardless of you asking for mine

Still getting it wrong every time

Oh, and don’t even get me started on the spelling

Especially despite my constant telling

Then again maybe I am thinking too much of myself

Provided a false sense of importance by your customer service award displayed behind the counter on a shelf

After all your job description only informed you that coffee was all you would be selling

Deterring me from doing any screaming and yelling

Unusual for someone like me today in this day and age

Proclaimed by this century’s everyday social media page

Which is why I don’t understand why such a young barista’s hand

Is still able to misspell

Another woman’s name rumored to enjoy giving hell

Whose order is amiss

And believes her ass deserves to be kissed

So I’m leaving this note on the table

In hopes that next time you will be able

To also call my name

Without throwing me into a tizzy and gaining more internet fame

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

McKenzie McQuade

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.