Poets logo

Just one Time

Not again!

By Gerald HolmesPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
11
Photo by Ryan Cryar on Unsplash

Here I sit on the precipice

On the edge

The abyss

So close to greatness

To glory

To adulation

*

I can feel it in my bones

From my finger tips

To my toes

It’s in my eyes

In my ears

Even my nose

*

All my senses

Awakened

In anticipation

Of victory

Of release

*

Finally

To be the one

At the top of the list

To be the winner

To claim the prize

To raise my fist

*

To be recognized

As the one

That played the game

By the rules

Honestly

And finally won

*

The time is here

My fingers tremble

On the keys

*

Disappointment!

*

The winners list

Again

It’s not me?

*

In disbelief I stare

Swear

Shed a tear

Say

I don’t care

*

But you see

I do care

We all do

Some more than others

But if we’re honest

We all do

*

Some say it’s

Not about the prize

But playing the game

*

Really

I agree

*

But just one time

Just one

fucking time

Please

Let it be

Meeeeeee!!!!

*

performance poetry
11

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman5 months ago

    If there's any truth in this world, it will be you soon Gerald!!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Gerald!!! This is so relatable and really drew a connection for me!! I can feel that burning passion in my soul!! This is was beautifully written and I love your raw passion that is parted within this poem! Amazing work!

  • Keeping my fingers crossed for it to be you 🤞🤞🤞

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    Definitely been there, and like you said, whether we are honest about it or not, we've all been there... Thank you!

  • Better to be the one who endures than the one who wins the prize. Yeah, I don't buy it either, true though it may be.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Well said bro. The frustration is real. Sometimes I wonder wth is going on.

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Yes!!! Say it LOUD!!! Resonated!!! Love it!!!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    You know, I'd like to say "no, it's not like that for me". But there's more truth here that I'd like to admit!

  • Judey Kalchik 6 months ago

    Oh dear! I'm there, too. But recognized by others or not, winners we still be.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.