Poets logo

Just One More

A poem for my child

By Dan PittmanPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I hope the vast forests and winding rivers still remain

Before they are destroyed by the modern profit gain.

I hope your lungs can take deep breaths while you stare up at the sky

And behold the wonders of this world with forever wondrous eyes.

I hope the mountains remain capped with ice and snow

For you to venture toward the peaks to see the world below.

I hope the birds will carry on with their same familiar songs

And that you can take the time to stop and sing along.

I hope you can appreciate the dirt between your toes

The smell of an early morning rain and the foggy pasture lows.

I have no doubt your mother will carry on with her glee

Skipping with you in the meadow, two like souls - wild and free.

I hope that as a father i can be your biggest fan

Your shoulder rest, wiper of tears, prime example of a man.

I hope my mother and my dad will get to see you grow

Perhaps they will still be here to watch your seeds be sown.

I hope this life shows you everything you need to see

Regardless of the obstacles and uncertainty.

For all the things I hope for, it comes down to nothing more

Than an adventure you take only once with a craving for just one more.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dan Pittman

I write to encourage perspective. I write to challenge readers to really peel back the layers of their mind and get their hands dirty. Our brains are fascinating and even moreso when we dive deep into their depths.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.