Poets logo

Just Because I Can

The sound of one hand reaching

By Judey Kalchik Published 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
22
Image by Karan Saini from Pixabay

Just because I can,

why must it always be me?

Does it mean I value you more than I value myself?

That I want us more than I want me?

*

Just because I can,

why must I always reach out?

Knowing as my hand extends I doubt that you will be there.

Is there nothing of me that calls to your heart?

*

Just because I can,

why must I be our story's memory?

Do you know our history will fade away with my life?

Is there nothing that you want to keep and savor?

*

Just because I can,

why must I absorb the hurt and pain of rejection?

My silence is so loud I can't believe you don't hear the screaming.

And still I deeply breathe and try once more.

*

Just because I can.

*

For now.

heartbreak
22

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor5 months ago

    Dear Mrs. Judey ~ HaPpy New Year - I've learned so much from you this year via the VillageBucket ~ - Just because I'm not into Contests/Rewards Doesn't mean I don't enjoy your many eclectic offerings. Just As: - Just because you like Vodka Doesn't mean you like Putin. - Just because you don't like Bagels/with Lox Doesn't make you Anti-Semitic - Just because you are not a big fan of Tattoo 'Art' slathered all over Doesn't make you Hate 'ART' - Just because you don't like Rap Music Doesn't make you a 'Racist' - And, just because you are only a Lawyer Doesn't make you totally ~ il - "Lit"- er - ate ~ ~ Some people just like You for You ~  - Always with my Respect - Just - Me - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author  - Vocal Village Community -

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.