Poets logo

Just Because

Poetry by Actor Matthew McConaughey & Poet Diane Michelle Campbell

By Diane Michelle CampbellPublished 7 months ago Updated 6 months ago 4 min read
Like
Lone Cypress: Monterey, California

Sometimes grown-ups say Just Because. Have you ever wondered why?

Just because he throws the dart, doesn’t mean it hit the mark.

Just because he has talent, doesn’t mean he doesn't need luck to make sure he doesn't suck.

Just because some call luck good or bad, doesn’t mean anything!

Just because she feels let down, doesn’t mean it’s so.

Just because he and she are young and growing slow, doesn’t mean they are clumsy and lack flow.

Just because she tries to answer the call, doesn’t mean she succeeds at all.

Just because she reaches the top alone, doesn’t mean she won't need help from a friend after she reaches her goal.

Just because she lets go, doesn’t mean she stops climbing.

Just because something isn’t true, doesn’t mean it can’t be.

Just because people say it’s so, doesn’t mean it is!

Just because her mom believes she's tucked in for the night, doesn’t mean she's done for the day at all, alright, alright, alright?

Just because he only wants gold now, doesn’t mean he'll never learn to appreciate the silver lining in every box he opens. Wouldn't you agree?

Just because he sees the note, doesn’t mean he knows how to read the words his mom wrote.

Just because he makes the same mistakes over and over again, doesn’t mean he won’t learn how to change his behavior when he is old enough to understand.

Just because she wants something that isn’t hers, doesn’t mean she should take it without paying first.

Just because she took something that wasn’t hers, doesn’t mean she blew it, and she couldn't fix it before things got worse.

Just because some girls who like to dress up and become pretty princesses might think tom boys don’t like to dress up at all, doesn’t mean it’s true.

Just because the flower is hidden by shade, doesn’t mean the sun won’t find it later in the day.

Just because the game is sold out, doesn’t mean he can’t watch it anyway.

Just because she cries, doesn’t mean there isn’t a reason why.

Just because I lied, doesn’t mean I’m a liar.

Just because they scream ice cream when I can’t, doesn’t mean they won’t be my friends and share if they can.

Just because my voice is silent, doesn’t mean I'm unheard.

Just because I am alone with only my thoughts, doesn’t mean my imagination isn't my best friend.

Just because I'm dirty, doesn't mean I can't enjoy a bath too.

Just because I’m angry, doesn’t mean I have the right to be mean or yell and scream.

Just because I’m spinning in circles, doesn’t mean I’m dizzy.

Just because I practice being still, doesn’t mean I’m lazy.

Just because I know I have friends, doesn’t mean I always believe it or see it.

Just because I do it my way, and you do it your way, doesn’t mean my way is better than yours or your way is better than mine.

Just because I dreamed it, doesn’t mean I cannot make it come true.

Just because I am a bully, doesn’t mean I am strong too.

Just because my hand is clenched, doesn’t mean it’s a fist.

Just because I’d rather not, doesn’t mean I won’t try.

Just because I’m in the race, doesn’t mean I’m fully ready.

Just because I have the yippy yippy shakes, doesn’t mean I can’t overcome, make the putt, and be one and done.

Just because I follow, doesn’t mean I’m not a leader.

Just because cheaters think winners like me cheat too, doesn’t mean winners like me don’t simply work harder than they do.

Just because I disagree with you, doesn’t mean either one of us should fight over who is right because nobody's right and nobody's wrong.

Just because I want one more, doesn’t mean I should have two.

Just because the sun doesn’t shine, doesn’t mean the light isn’t coming through.

Just because the sun has set, doesn’t mean it will not rise again because every day is a gift, and with each one a new sunrise begins.

There’s how I see it, and how you see it, and what will come to be.

BELIEVE IT!!!!

Just because is a good start to any race of any kind,

but being human is not a race,

so embrace each and every day at a slower pace,

to find that happy space,

where we can all live together in peace as one race,

from here to eternity,

on this big blue marble,

a planet not a place,

called Earth.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Diane Michelle Campbell

I write to be free.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.