Poets logo

Just a Few Thoughts on Paper

First Poem I Ever Wrote about Writing Poetry — Best Place to Start

By Alexander CandlinPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
You see I am a bit of a poet. And I did not know it

Yes I stole that from a film but what is one to say

My poems are fragile; mostly stolen, I’ll show you if I may

A poet of your standing will surely come to agree

A few words on a page, how easy can it be?

Let’s give this poem malarkey a try, as hard as it may appear?

Perhaps a lapse in judgment was what led me standing here?

I have the criteria of a poet, drinking, fighting, whoring

But the biggest secret of all this, that life is rather boring.

Inspirations are rare for some, for Coleridge it was a lime tree bower.

I’m a simpler man if you hadn’t guessed, I wrote this in the shower

I’m not like Byron, all those women beauty beyond compare

Even that rumpus with his sister, but let’s not go there

Keats had his sadness, Wordsworth nature, ideas in the air

I, on the other hand, have something else, too much time to spare.

Writing poetry is quite a thing, to a word wrong is horrific.

Beer makes us all articulate, but let me be pacific.

So many languages out there so why not say them different

Perhaps like Byron, I am worldly, or maybe call me hignorant.

I hope I’ve impressed enough, it’s the best I could do

I wish to impress Dad sometime, “dark day I adopted you”

This was quite a rush job, I wrote the poem this morning.

Threw in some rhymes, a quirk or two, I pray it wasn’t boring.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Alexander Candlin

An amateur writer and poet; enjoy writing in my spare time. Want to try everything once and meet everyone I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.