Poets logo

Judging

Pointing Fingers

By Dan R FowlerPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like

Judging

There is no greater calling, no greater task,

Than to love people as they are, not wearing a mask.

To love people for the glory of a life that’s lived,

Fulfills a glorious purpose by appreciating what they give.

But pointing fingers has become a favorite past-time,

For those who are just as guilty becoming less kind.

Arrows and spears and shards of broken promises,

Push people away who are wearing choking harnesses.

To judge some say is what they are entitled to do,

Rendering fake assumptions without even a clue.

For there are none so righteous or without sin,

Who can sit in judgment of any woman or man?

You see, there is no one righteous as they proclaim,

We all are just alike without mercy, we’re just the same.

So make fun of those who are different than you,

And when the accounts are opened, yours will appear too.

Be kind to those around you we’ve been told,

Unannounced angels are being sent for us to behold.

It’s the words not spoken that make the difference,

That gives comfort rather than showing belligerence.

It isn’t my world nor heaven to give,

I’m only passing through being taught to forgive.

So think twice about what you say or do,

It may be an unseen angel you’re talking to.

O foolish person who feels they know best,

How I should fight to finish my test?

For you, I say it’s not up to you,

Which way I shall go or which world I should view.

For within me dwells a precious soul that is mine,

That has been sent here in me just for this time.

Stop pushing and shoving things for me to do,

My life is a personal gift and by grace, I’ll get through.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. https://www.amazon.com/Verge-Dan-R-Fowler. Completed 41 novels since 2017. Screenplay being shopped by Voyage Media, LA, CA

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.