Poets logo

Jude

A poem about lost causes

By Poetry LandscapesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Jude
Photo by Mahdi Shakhesi on Unsplash

I woke up one morning,

my depression in full swing.

I took my meds,

regretted getting out of bed,

.

but played some skyrim instead.

and for the thousandth time

the imperials

failed to kill

.

that stormcloak bastard.

.

My Aussie Mara

was at my side.

She likes to be my head pillow

as I drown away

my sorrows,

.

in frame rates and bad poetry.

.

I keep thinking this

isn't how life

was supposed to be.

What happened here,

where is the contract

.

I made with god

when my parents agreed

to an expensive

private school?

.

Where I would make

reams of money

not working.

Because I graduated

at a Catholic Parochial

institution, where god

was the key

to all my solutions?

.

But us Catholics

have a Saint for this.

We have Saints

for many pretty things.

.

Some sad things too.

Even the really terrible things.

.

I think about the return

of Alduin,

And what this means

for Tamriel.

.

I worry that somehow

this will effect the great

Dragon Break,

.

in Elder Scrolls,

but also in my past.

.

I pray to my dog

this wont be so.

That I will give

my daughter

.

better things than fast

frame rates

and video games

that make lousy metaphors.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Poetry Landscapes

We are a poet influenced by Charles Bukowski, and Button poets such as Anis Mojgani, Neil Hilborn and Andrea Gibson. He follows the outlaw style and utilizes surrealist landscapes. Find more at https://poetrylandscapes.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.