Poets logo

Journey Through the Darkness

Embers of Hope

By Melania J.L.Published 5 months ago 1 min read

Oh, cruel thoughts that plague my troubled mind

Whispering lies and urging me to die

Why must you be so unrelenting, unkind?

Pushing me closer to the edge, oh why?

-

I hear your voice, a constant, bitter taunt

Telling me I am worthless and alone

My heart grows heavy, my spirit grows gaunt

As your words cut deep and strip me to the bone

-

But wait, is this truly my only fate?

To succumb to these dark and twisted lies

Or can I rise above and find my strength

To silence your deceit and say goodbye?

-

For I am more than just my darkest thoughts

And I will not let you dictate my life's plot.

Stream of ConsciousnessSonnetsad poetryMental Healthheartbreak

About the Creator

Melania J.L.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Loved: For I am more than just my darkest thoughts And I will not let you dictate my life's plot.

Melania J.L.Written by Melania J.L.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.