Poets logo

Journey Home

The Calling

By MaSuPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Aburi Mountain, Ghana West Afrika

I never wanted Afrika

But Afrika wanted me.

She cries for me, she dies for me,

But they never set me free.

We live too far from her wealth,

That so many come to steal.

We believe the 2 AM commercials.

We believe the pop-bellies and flies.

We believe the vaccine paradigm.

He told us lies, he sold us pies and crosses.

We cry inside, she dies inside; the continent.

I never wanted Afrika.

While Afrika dies for peace.

She lies for me, to hide from me,

Still they never set me free.

He’s paying actors to fool us.

He bribes the hungry to feed us.

His science, his religion, his concoctions.

We grieve the deaths his hope brought on us.

We grieve the births his plan wrote for us.

We grieve the myths he raised in us.

He covered his lies, he blindfolded our wise and women.

I never wanted Afrika.

But Afrika wanted me free.

Her eyes see me, her lips say me.

Not yet have they set me free.

We cannot be bought again with lies.

We will not be taught to sympathize.

Their mission impossible still breeds.

Their ammunition of GMO seeds.

To protect us from their greedy appetite.

They sold us a broken life jacket; we float.

I never wanted Afrika.

But Afrika wanted to bring me home.

My friends are afraid of her, my family is ashamed of her.

They will not make me hate her.

On iron wings I fly to Afrika.

Into her open arms I went home.

I survived them to be home, I arrived to be loved.

I am Afrika, She is me.

I am home - Ah! Amen, AseÓ, Home!

inspirational
1

About the Creator

MaSu

I see life and people at many angles to embrace my creativity and ignite diversity. I write to motivate all of us to step into our greatness so we can boldly build a strong and resilient community that will change our footprint.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.