Poets logo

John Lennon's Army Jacket

a poem

By Anastasia KarelPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
my Vietnam era Army shirt

Vietnam era was my style icon’s choice

Punk rock calling

Giving me a voice

Senior year

Have no fear

Of ever falling

Military or not

Olive green inspired

Fed my fire

Power to the people

Patti Smith in a steeple

If passion

Is a fashion?

The Clash was the only band that matters

Wear it across your chest

Be your rock and roll best

Red stripes and purple eyeliner too

Should get their due

Colors of power stick

While stars are symbolic

“Whatever gets you through the night”

Memories are what make it right

Fly your own flag

And keep up the fight

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Anastasia Karel

I’m an archivist by trade, and creator the rest of the time! I love to tell stories about the places I’ve been and things I do.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.