Poets logo

Joan of Arc

And the Hundred Years' War

By Ayawyn C.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1

The sun rises in the sky,

To greet a morning full of fears.

Hundreds of thousands awake to die,

Every day for a hundred years.

I was born in a war,

I live in a war,

And I will surely die in war,

But I give my life for something more.

Life is short and war is long.

Who am I against a hundred years?

Courage is rare and hate is strong.

Who am I against a hundred fears?

Hate is the oldest enemy,

And I am still so young.

But I have faith that through my God,

Victory will be won.

I see nothing but blood and sword,

Every day for all my years.

But I will first serve my Lord,

I will conquer a hundred fears.

What I believe is just and right,

For this cause I will fight.

I know the price which I must pay,

For I will surely die today.

I give you my every sunrise,

I give you all my tears,

I give you everything I own,

My life, my future, all my years.

The sun rises: pink and gold.

Hate is not yet deceased.

I will never live to be old,

I will never live to see the peace.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Ayawyn C.

I enjoy reading, writing, nature, theatre, and chess. I love to write poetry and stories. My favorite type of book is a new, empty notebook. I believe in following your heart and working towards your dreams.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.