Poets logo

Jellico, Tennessee

The only home for me.

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Originally published 5 months ago (April 2021)

This town may be small but she'll always be my home

I'll always come back to her, no matter where I roam.

Surrounded by her mountains and protected by her trees

Jellico Tennessee is the only home for me.

Aerial view of Jellico, Tennessee

I've got some good friends here, I might have broke a heart or two

Laying out of school, when my parents didn't have a clue.

I carved my name on a tree, and wrote it on a bridge

Driving way too fast, lost the cops by just a smidge.

Jellico Elementary School

I had my first kiss under that tree way over there

On a warm Summer night, with honeysuckle in the air.

Caught my first fish at the Indian Mountain State Park

Where I use to meet my admirer and cuddle in the dark.

Indian Mountain State Park, Jellico, Tennessee

The best part of Summer was the carnival in town

We all got sick as dogs from spinning round and round.

I got my first car from a man named Cracker down the road

Then I had to call him back, when it broke down and needed towed.

They say that the post office is haunted, there's a ghost way upstairs

We use to sneak in there, for twenty bucks on a dare.

In the Jellico Cemetery, is where my daddy was laid to rest

The day I found the Holy Spirit, and knew that I was blessed.

Post Office in Jellico, Tennessee

I was baptized in that big Baptist Church down on Main

When my life changed forever, I would never be the same.

My first child was born at the only hospital in this town

I shed a silent tear, when the city finally shut it down.

Jellico Community Hospital

I know the town mayor and call him by his first name

Even though he's an official, he remains a friend just the same.

I think that I must know everyone around

No matter where I go, a friend of mine is found.

Right down on Main Street is our friendly Mr Buck

You'll find his little store, just look for the famous duck.

Bucks, in Jellico Tennessee (and his famous duck)

The Veterans Memorial park, honoring some real good men

I use to take my father there to see it time and time again.

In Jellico, we place flags on soldiers graves

To honor them for all that they so selfishly gave.

When we pass a police officer, we wave and say hello

Defund the police, in Jellico we say "Hell No".

Police car, Jellico, Tennessee

We fly our flags out in the yard, with dignity and pride

Here in this town, our liberty and freedom we dont to hide.

You might look around and say "there isn't much to do"

Just keep reading friend because I have some news for you.

We go to church on Sunday and pray for all our sins

Then we gather for dinner with our family and our friends.

First Baptist Church, Jellico, Tennessee

We go to work on Monday right on through the week

We all have bills to pay and homes we'd like to keep.

At the pizza spot on Friday we eat and have a drink

Then we cruise around town, doing our very best lip sync.

All of our radios are set to WJJT 105.9

Southern Gospel and some country is sounding mighty fine.

Heritage Pizza, Jellico, Tennessee

We laugh in the sun and we dance in the rain

Then we drive through the park, hoping to see that darn ol' crane.

We go down to McD's and grab ourselves a shake

Then to the Little Deuce Scoop to get a piece of cake.

We listen to the frogs at night while sipping on our tea

We smile while watching grandpa bounce the babies on his knee.

Sun Gypsy Boutique, Jellico, Tennessee

Now we don't always get along, we might fuss or have a fight

Until we see the big Chief Perkins turn on his blue police light.

We ladies go to see the Sun Gypsy, she keeps us looking mighty good

We gladly pay her outrageous bill, but it's clearly understood.

This town is wonderful just take the time and you will see

Why I say that Jellico Tennessee is the only home for me.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.