Poets logo

Jealousy

An Awful Feeling

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Image by Bénigne Gagneraux (CC0) via Wikimedia Commons

I was never jealous of anyone

or anything like a yellow Corvette

Jealous of Elon Musk? never ever

Jeff Bezos? no way in a million years

Bill Gates? I admire his great Foundation

Zeus? I love his daughter but she's out there

Any other god? I prefer Science

Someone else’s woman? not even close

But I sense jealousy between women

I don’t care about any between men

I love women and jealousy is lame

There’s no physical reason to be that

Words are here to convey love never hate

or the always engorging jealousy

There’s no competition between beauty

of poetry whether sexy or not

My heart is beating rapidly for them

and I don’t even know any of them

I only reread their words and respond

according to their meaning in my heart

I would never hurt intentionally a

woman or even a man or a tree

or other animals as well except

for certain insects like scary roaches

my thick phobia extraordinaire

I live in Canada to avoid them

They also lowered Hawai’i for me

They are the State bird I swear no kidding

Jealousy is like a flying cockroach

It scares me as much and turns me right off

I’m sorry if I caused anyone pain

of some sort in their heart and or their soul

By Jove I love you all but I’m allowed

methinks to love one more than another

Let’s look at the Sun or the demure Moon

The stars are out tonight in force I see

They may know what I mean more than I do

My Greek inspiration is surely not

a déjà vu of any kind or sort

Come on M you must be dreaming again

and it’s daylight both outside and within

Such jealousy doesn’t reside on our

Vocal this ain’t Twitter or Facebook

You may be right I may need longer naps

...

Dedicated to all writers and readers on Vocal but especially Athena, the Goddess of Wisdom. Zeus has not returned my calls for her hand and she is somewhere in the faraway blue sky.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.