Poets logo

"Jaded Giant"

"Jaded Giant"

By Dennis LaLiberte IIPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am the jaded giant

fading amoungst the clouds.

In a circumstance of forced compliance

Peering worrisome above the crowds.

I move ever gracefully.

Calmly and secure.

My ever eye seeing those lost faithlessly

in a world disguised as pure.

I notice the ones who are lost.

As my tears create a monsoon.

Their suffering is not without cost

For me to interrupt is taboo.

It breaks my giant heart

as they only know one thing.

Self-destruction and hatred for each other,

All because of varying skin color.

As I ponder what it must be like, alas, I still feel the sting.

Asking myself if they would hate me also if I removed myself from the dark.

Still I am their jaded giant, placed here upon command.

To watch over this dying culture.

Without the slightest way to understand.

I send my ravens for disclosure

but they seldom bring back news I want to comprehend.

I am only a jaded giant watching over a beautiful blue and green world.

If only they would have the dignity within themselves

To love each other with their hearts unfurled.

Then its a possibility these creatures would no longer kill each other like lions against gazelles.

I hear mother Earth scream!

as she is torn completely to shreds.

I try to heal her with my tears as they gleam

Tumbling down upon her blood stained flower bed.

I may just be a jaded giant

fading amongst these clouds.

All I ask of you is compliance

In this beautiful world torn apart by the hate I see in these crowds.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.