Poets logo

It Was Just a Matter Of Time Before IT Got Me...

The Horrors of Imagination

By Niana GPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
It Was Just a Matter Of Time Before IT Got Me...
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

It was just a matter of time before IT got me,

I knew I had to run faster, my feet just wouldn’t agree,

I could here IT’s approach, it’s deep breathing shaking me to my core,

I had to go faster, or I'd be no more

I had to go faster, try harder, for my escape,

I had to try harder, go faster, before it was too late,

The end was upcoming, time slowly dwindling

From behind me I hear the sound of distant cackling

No one else mattered, it was just IT and I,

If I didn’t make it to a safe zone, I would surely die,

I had to go, I had to run, fear alone kept me going forward,

I couldn’t give in, I couldn’t fold, I was no coward, I had to go onward

A wrong turn! A dead end!

There was nowhere to go,

Nowhere to hide,

I turn and face my assailant, I was terrified

It smiled an evil, terrible, horrific smile,

Oh I wished I could just run one more mile,

Oh I wished there was somewhere I could go,

But I knew IT was going to deal the deathblow,

IT stretched out IT’’s terrible chubby hands,

There was nothing I could do, IT had me pinned

“It’s time to go home, you two!” Mother calls from across the park

Little me smiled at my brother, knowing I had winned’

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Niana G

I'm a 17 year old aspiring writer. Cats, space, and maybe some sort of dark shade of blue pretty much describes my vibe, both in real life and in writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.