Poets logo

It's Vegemite Mate!

firing up some toast now

By Brenton FPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
5

oh most humble

of extracted yeast spreads

to see you basking upon my toast

makes my heart and tummy warm

while not appealing to many

it is a taste

developed from early childhood

i have to laugh

when i see the taste test videos

doing it all wrong

just a light coat

on top of another light coat of butter

not two centimetres thick

from crust to crust

well that’s not the way i do it

i love it

but i’m not about to eat it with a spoon

it’s a savoury condiment

it's not marmite - yucko!

it enlivens the pallet

and

if you want to get tastily creative

smear it all over a beef roast

bung it on a spit for a few hours

you will thank me after

nyom!

.

.

.

CDXCIX

buyers guide
5

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dee Dee Farrrrk4 months ago

    Iconic. Spread it thick!!!!

  • Andrew C McDonald9 months ago

    Here is the most Australian thing I have read or seen in my whole life: “bung it on a spit for a few hours you will thank me after” Sir, here in America I think that comment would get you a bj … in a gay bar. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 This is entertaining and a nice ode to our old pal Vegemite. If one wants to spread it 2cm thick, try SPAM instead. 🤙🏻

  • I've not had marmite before but yes I've heard that we're supposed to only use very little. Loved your poem!

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Shoe polish for toast? No. No. And no. My Australian friends never forgave my honesty, and I stand uncorrected. :/

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Haha love it! It’s the best with butter on toast when you are sick. Very comforting right. 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.