Poets logo

It's My Individuality

Poems by; Keith McHugh

By Keith MchughPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
It's My Individuality
Photo by Sean Sinclair on Unsplash

Why all the hype?

We created this stereotype,

About identities and sexuality.

Can't you see, that's private to me.

Sex is a Sacred unity, combining you and me.

Spiritually sharing our energy,

In secrecy, only GOD can see.

Think it matters you approve of my identity,

Or that you gave a month for all to see.

Like im looked at differently.

Its a reality lived daily by so many,

And to parade around sexuality seems silly,

Adding confusion to our identity.

And why?

So we can stand pridefully,

In our broken society.

While so many go hungry,

We keep on selfishly.

"Hey you! Look at Me!"

Let me flash my personality.

Don't worry about homeless Harry,

He's scary, he may hurt me,

Not my responsibility.

Where's the Morality?

Who cares about identity or sexuality,

The world is falling from our feet.

A distraction so discrete, so full of deceit,

Cant you see?

The labels dividing you and me.

Bringing chaos to society.

Watching the news, to see a robbery,

Or a dead body, wars in other countries,

Only to comfort our own insecurities.

Blinded by the part we play,

As the FEAR keeps you at bay.

who cares if we're Gay,

Or want to experiment someday.

Identify as a food tray,

That'll drive them away.

Lets take a stance,

Give this world a chance.

Go out, Make a difference.

We dance around identity.

While they rob our connectivity,

Confusing who we truly see.

Not The ONE we're here to be,

Staring back through you and me.

Through love unconditionally,

We will finally see,

The greatness in Humanity.

Escape your captivity,

Of how people think of thee,

We are all here collectively.

FEAR and HATE being thrown in our face,

Over running our LOVE and GRACE.

We're all stuck in this Rat Race,

A slave to its pace.

Unaware, The treasure that awaits,

When we can drop the labels,

And live together as a RACE.

Let's take a month of awareness,

and put it in it's place.

It's a disgrace,

Throwing sexuality in our face.

Sincerely,

The ENE$RGY, running through you and me.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Keith Mchugh

Good day to the wonderful soul reading this. I'm so glad to be able to share my art with so many awesome people, with such great imaginations. I hope you enjoy my little contribution. See you in the station.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.