Poets logo

It's Mundane

But it's comfort

By Colleen MitranoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
It's Mundane
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

The creak of the chair as I sit down

The wheels rolling slightly as I adjust my position

The slightly loose chair back that squeaks when I lean on it

It’s mundane, but it’s comfort

The click the knob makes as I turn on my mirror light

The coolness that flows through my fingers as I fiddle with the metal mirror frame

The slight annoyance I feel when the chair rolls over the lamp cord

It’s mundane, but it’s comfort

The sweet smell of vanilla and flowers as I apply moisturizer

The makeup brushes tapping together as I rummage through them

The snap the eyeshadow palette makes when I open it

It’s mundane, but it’s comfort

The bloop sound that the primer makes as I squeeze the tube

The slight sweep of a brush across my eyelids as I apply eyeshadow

The shine the highlighter leaves on my cheekbones

It’s mundane, but it’s comfort

The cool mist hitting my face as I set it with makeup spray

The snap the lipstick component makes as I close it

The feeling of joy I get when I look in the mirror and see my creativity has come alive

It’s mundane, but it’s my comfort

list
Like

About the Creator

Colleen Mitrano

Just a girl who loves writing, makeup and the supernatural.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.