Poets logo

It's Just Like

A Poem by Michelle Shaay

By MICHELLE SHAAY Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
It's Just Like
Photo by Jr R on Unsplash

I can hear the melodic rain peacefully drenching the Earth and me too

It's just like...

A walk in a cool stream with my bare feet kissing the pebbles underneath while gliding my hand over every other stone

It's just like...

My favorite oversized tee that swallows me, envelops me entirely with a lingering and pleasant scent of fresh linen, after being removed from a warm dryer

It's just like...

Us huddled around a bonfire and a soft kiss planted on my lips

All of these gifts can always bring me much more, but nothing less than sheer bliss and comfort within my soul

It's just like...

A cupcake with a touch of decadent cocoa and a pecan on top of the icing

It's just like...

Singing my favorite song off key in my car while parked under an oak tree

All of these gifts bring me nothing less than sheer bliss and comfort within my soul

It's just like...

The rocking chair on a screened porch, a cool southern night and the light rustling of leaves on the ground any day of the week-you see

As all of these triumphant, simple things can always bring me more but nothing less than comfort

Forever

vintage
1

About the Creator

MICHELLE SHAAY

Start writing.... 

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Love this, so relatable! Also that photo made me hungry 😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.