Poets logo

It’s in Every Smile You Give Me

A Poem About Finding Home

By J.B. MillerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
It’s in Every Smile You Give Me
Photo by Pranav Kumar Jain on Unsplash

I have lived in trailers and fancy houses,

been from one end of this world to the other.

But nothing warms my heart or brings me closer,

than the smile upon your face when you see me.

It doesn't matter where I lay my head,

or where my boots rest before I go to bed.

It doesn't matter what I own,

or how much I have lost or is gone.

What matters is the grin you give,

how your eyes light up with joy.

It doesn't matter where we live,

or if we have new fancy toys.

They say that home is where the heart is,

Mine is with you, so that's where it will always be.

The moment they put you in my arms,

was the moment I found out what home really means.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

J.B. Miller

Wife, Mother, student, writer and so much more. Life is my passion, writing is my addiction. You can find me on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/brandy28655/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.