Poets logo

It's been 350,400 minutes

Here's what you missed

By JessiPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1
It's been 350,400 minutes
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Well, hello. It's been a minute. Actually, it's been 350,400 minutes.

First, let me say that I didn't take a writing break. In fact, I published two books (one novella and one poetry collection) since I've been away for the past eight months. I have also started screenwriting, which has been a complete joy. I took a break from writing for you. I took a break from writing for anyone. Mostly, I took a break from the pressure of this website. The word limits. Challenges. All of it. I have been writing for fun.

By Markus Winkler on Unsplash

While falling back in love with writing and reading, I have moved states, got a puppy and a landline phone (no correlation), and quit my job. I am currently unemployed which is terrifying but nice at the same time.

I spent this past summer in the western slope of Colorado and I was miserable. While being miserable, I started selling books at the local market every Thursday. It helped a little, but the weather soon ran me out of town and back into the comforting cool embrace of Oregon.

I haven't made any progress whatsoever in starting my coffee shop. I never went back to tap dancing. I did however get into Tarot reading and crystals so I guess Colorodo did give me something.

By Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

Anyway, I'm back. I'm back because I miss community and now that my books are finished and out in the world, I'd like some silly prompts every now and again. So, tell me. What's new with you? How have the changes here on Vocal.Media been? I want to hear the tea, as the kids say.

Happy holidays! See you around.

- RJP

excerpts
1

About the Creator

Jessi

Writer on the Oregon coast. Lover of nature, poetry, and coffee! I love to write about my travels, lovers + mental health. Thanks for your support! Feel free to browse, share, and comment away. :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Wooohooooo congratulations on your novella, poetry book and screenwriting! A lot has changed. There's been many new communities that have been added, such as, Men, Writers, Bookclub, Critique, Chapters, Humor, Art, History, etc. Speaking of which, this piece would have been more suitable to be posted in the Writers community rather than Poets but it's okay! So happy you're back! I've subscribed to you! Also, Poets no longer has the 100 word minimum requirement. Several other communities like Fiction, Art, BookClub, Chapters, Critique and Writers no longer have the 600 words minimum requirement. Apart from the official Vocal Challenges, Vocal writers have started a trend of Unofficial Vocal Challenges as well.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.