Poets logo

It's 2:00 PM and I'm Still in Bed

#VocalNPM

By The New ProgressivesPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
12 Days of Christmas "Ham"

I’m thinking of my mom and what she thinks of me.

Am I some fly-ass negro, or is she ashamed of me?

It’s funny it’s the first time I’ve thought of this before.

But I’ll think of it and probably won’t think of it anymore.

And I’m tired of the future. How long will it last?

How long will it be till it’s my distant past?

Will I think of these times and say, “I should’ve done better?”

But I know me and I’ve never really been a regretter.

I hope I remember the life that I’ve led...

The strange and pretty people I’ve had sleep in my bed.

I hope I remember the fun it was.

Realizing it was winter running away from the sun.

The rebellious n**** with her rebellious ways.

Never giving a thought to these passing days.

And I wonder if my mom could live this crazy life,

Would she end up like I will, or would she do it right?

That’s a crazy thought too... my mom in my shoes.

She’d probably cut a record about singing the blues.

But I’ve repaired a few holes and applied some bandages.

Painting each new picture on different canvasses,

Instead of putting it all together looking ugly and weird.

See this is the shit I think about when I’m plucking my beard.

And when people call me crazy, I really don’t care.

I’m just taken aback like, “You weren’t aware?”

Just some of the shit that goes through my head

When it’s 2:00 PM and I’m still in bed.

Photo from http://rawpixel.com from Pexels

art
Like

About the Creator

The New Progressives

This is The New Progressives Blog where we talk no shit politics; shaming the devil by telling the truth. We don't pull punches, we don't watch our mouths, and we don't abide dumb shit; fighting to save our democracy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.