Poets logo

It Molded Me

Yet, Here I Stand

By Pieces of Me ~ Poems by HeidiPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Unsplash / Frank McKenna / Insta @frankiefoto

It molded me.. .

The waves crashing on sandy shores,

The ebb and flow of waters coming to and leaving land,

The humidity hanging in the air in thick clouds of invisible wet that touch my skin,

The wind rustling the tops of palm trees as they sway under hungry pelicans searching for that one meal…or two’s worth,

And salt that gives me a permanent thirst for where I cannot go.

I find myself walking the beaches here often.

I feel the quartz white sand between my toes,

And hear the constant of water kissing shore.

All that is alive around me is life.

And I simply observe as it evolves.

Rushing, ebbing, flowing, seeking food, making shelter.

Yet, here I am.

Solid as the tree that fell into pillows of powder from that February storm with roots now exposed,

Twisted, turned, snarled and reaching to the sky,

Stained with salt.

I am still.

I embrace warm weaving waters that touch my limbs

And simply, be.

inspirationalnature poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Pieces of Me ~ Poems by Heidi

In 2022, I came across a bin of my journals spanning many years. It was then that I realized I haven’t told people I enjoy writing or shared my work publicly. I decided to start.

FB/Insta @piecesofmepoemsandwriting

Thank you for reading ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.