Poets logo

It Is Well

With My Soul, My Version

By Linda BromleyPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
Like
It Is Well
Photo by Esperanza Doronila on Unsplash

With Jesus my Lord God, walking by my side

I know I can face my life’s trials

No matter how hard or how dark they may be

I’m comforted deep down in my soul

It is well

With my soul

It is well it is well with my soul

Tho Satan distracts me with illness and strife

I go straight to the Word of my Lord

To keep me in line with His heart evermore

I am then at home I know in my soul

It is well

With my soul

It is well it is well with my soul

My sin in the mirror reflects my humanness

It brings shame and guilt forth like a storm

But I know this is not the final result

Because Jesus deals kind with my soul

It is well

With my soul

It is well it is well with my soul

I can’t wait for the day when my Lord comes back again

In His bright shining gown on the clouds

His Victory is here He has won it on the cross

And it’s all very well in my soul

It is well

With my soul

It is well it is well with my soul

When His thousand year reign finally is here

And my body is made like brand new

We will dance hand in hand as His glory all abounds

And I cry with such joy in my soul

💝

💝

💝

a friend saw some of my poetry and suggested I write, or rather, rewrite hymns similar to Fanny J Crosby.

This is my ever attempt. I chose this hymn “It is well with my soul” because this is the song God gave me a week after my cancer diagnosis, almost a year ago. He wanted me to know that no MATTER the outcome, I’ll be ok because if I live, I get to enjoy life here on earth, and if I die then I go to be with Him in heaven.

It was a great comfort for me and has continued to be a great comfort for the last year.

Last week this song was on my heart so much I put my own words to the tune, keeping the chorus.

I hope you like it.

Song Lyricsinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Linda Bromley

Just one of many creative outlets for me has been books! My whole life I’ve loved them and it’s so easy to make the jump to writing.

Recently I completed a poetry challenge and now, looking for more excuses to write, I’ve found myself here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.