Poets logo

It is in this embrace that I let you go.

Your head and your heart are rivals and I crave them both.

By Netherland PoetryPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

One thousand tomorrows from now I’ll still miss how your skin feels foreign and warm against mine, until movement unites us. Temperature too.

“It’s thermal equilibrium”, you say.

The stabilization of our fever.

Touch bringing parity to our energy. Matched.

I want to lose myself in the architecture of your mind, where poetry is nailed to the walls and science whispers her secrets.

“This will ruin me, and save me”, you say, our naked bodies tangled. Exhausted. The weight of a life expected falls over us - a shadow.

Your head and your heart are rivals and I crave them both.

The jagged edges of expectation take a softer and softer shape the longer we remain in our angle of repose.

In this place we don’t have to whisper our desires, or pretend they don’t exist. Here, morality is what we decide, it sits in this choice we made like a miracle.

Who have I become while laying beside you and how do I keep her?

Lips touching like a barricade to keep in the words that knock, impatient. It is our last hour.

We are polygons of borrowed light refracting brilliance in each other, it blinds the shame. We bow our hearts to what is coming, and what we are leaving.

Stepping out into the sun from the cocoon where we gave in to wonder. We reach for each other.

It is in this embrace that I let you go.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Netherland Poetry

I write about love: Making it, keeping it, destroying it, rebuilding it from pieces. I also write about mental health, its mountaintops & it's valleys. Thank you for stopping by. Check out @netherland_poetry on Insta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.