Poets logo

It Doesn't Matter Anymore

A Poem by Yours Truly

By Izzy GallowayPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Me, shot by Megan Wallace (https://www.facebook.com/MeganKatePhotography/)

It shivered through my body,

cracked down my spine,

raced through my veins,

contaminated my lungs.

My body feels like mud,

my mind has turned into autumn leaves,

the breath that leaves me no longer comes back,

my skin is cold droplets,

my hair is the smell before heavy rain.

I'm not too sure when it happened or where I am now headed,

but the wind won't be tamed,

and my lifeless body will float with the breeze.

I will be consumed by the breath of life,

I will be used by the beating roots growing in their underground wombs,

and no one will shed a drop of life.

But blood will be spilled from thin arms,

and pain will be released through clouds of heavy smoke.

The purest sea water will flow from the eyes of a mother,

love will be lost in a bottle,

and confusion will be felt in every fiber of fur.

But I was already the soil,

I was already the rain,

I was already a mighty breeze weakened to its knees,

I was already an unexpected pause in the daily flow.

You only realized once I was one with the stars.

You only knew once time had ceased to matter or even exist.

You only grasped what was happening when my time was up.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Izzy Galloway

20 year old earth tenant trying to find what it is I’m looking for.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.