Poets logo

Isn't It Exciting

A Poem for All Who Knew

By CarolinePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Isn't It Exciting
Photo by Foad Roshan on Unsplash

From the shadows, we gained sunlight

From our rooms, we fled the streets

To come out, to be loud

So let us all be proud

I mean, isn't it exciting

To be who we say we are?

By Alfred Schrock on Unsplash

Like a cocoon hatching

A butterfly emerging

Flapping its colorful wings

Dying to be seen

I mean, isn't it exciting

That the world is anew?

By Pablo Merchán Montes on Unsplash

Those family dinners

Where everything is out on the table

The conversation not surface level

But full with laughter and truth

I mean, isn't it exciting?

When you feel like your home?

By Yoav Hornung on Unsplash

Love is love

So, we like, accept and welcome you

Yes, I am pointing at you and you and you

Don't forget about you across the sea, too

I mean, isn't it exciting

To love and be loved by all?

By Eduardo Pastor on Unsplash

For all who knew that there were others like me

For all who knew and still loved me for me

I give you my sincerest thanks

It was because of you that I felt like I could show off me

I mean, isn't it exciting

That we can show pride after all?

By Rod Long on Unsplash

In this great big world where freedom means to be free

Where the sky could be clearer, and the ocean could be blue

Where people stand up for justice, and their bodies too

Where life can change in a blink of an eye

I mean, doesn't that sound exciting

To have a place in it all?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Caroline

My name is Caroline and I am an avid reader, writer and dreamer. I write for fun and to express all the crazy thoughts in my head. I love sharing my stories and experiences with others!

Wattpad: https://www.wattpad.com/user/caroline_1626

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.