Poets logo

Is My Life My Favourite Creative Project?

Yes it is!

By Joyce KayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Is My Life My Favourite Creative Project?
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Is my life my favourite creative project?

I have been contemplating this question for many, many days.

How can I even begin to understand and unravel that concept?

Just thinking about it is like navigating a complex maze.

By Benjamin Elliott on Unsplash

At first I thought about moments when I feel joy.

But what does that even mean and what does it mean to me?

Suddenly one piece of the puzzle falls into place: for my soul the gift of learning is like a new toy,

Being able to discover parts of the world and parts of myself makes me happy.

By Josh Carter on Unsplash

One of my favourite creative activities is to read,

I love immersing myself in a different universe for awhile,

Reading helps me learn the compassion and empathy I need to succeed,

Through reading I learn about different reasons to smile.

By Sincerely Media on Unsplash

I enjoy stepping outside of my comfort zone,

Because I have the foresight to know it will help me to improve,

Through new experiences, I learn about things for which I need to atone,

And I also know I don’t need anyone else to approve.

By Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I have realize I find joy in taking on very challenging tasks,

I have big plans and big dreams from the moment I start,

However, I don’t tend to let people see me struggle beneath my mask,

Even though it isn’t easy my intentions are good, and from the bottom of my heart.

By Mayur Gala on Unsplash

It’s interesting how the actions I have taken, often come back as life’s biggest proponents,

For example, my puppy has been a wonderful addition to my creative project of a life,

Everyday he challenges me to find happiness even in the smallest of moments,

Even during the days when there is much strife.

By David Clarke on Unsplash

I regularly look around me at the home I have built,

And can see pieces of me everywhere I look,

My degree is up on the wall, hanging with a slight tilt,

My favourite blanket and book are waiting for me to curl up in my reading nook.

By Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

I have a gift that allows me to see the good in other souls,

Even when they can’t yet see their value for themselves,

I gently push and guide them so they can see how their gifts can help them reach their goals,

I know that sometimes other people need a little help with reaching the top shelves.

By Kate Hliznitsova on Unsplash

Even in the worst of situations I try to be positive,

I take my figurative scissors and cut away the fear,

Sculpting my life into something I can love is my prerogative,

However, I know there will be the occasional day where the good energy will disappear.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Some days I struggle with whether I am on the right track,

Is there something else I should be doing instead,

I don’t want to live a life of regret or wondering what I lack,

But I push through the second guessing, because it can be too easy to get caught up in my own head.

By Andrew McElroy on Unsplash

I have described how I have created my life to be mine,

But maybe you are wondering how life could be a project,

Take a moment and think about its design,

Be still and process this before you comment.

By Felipe Furtado on Unsplash

Life has a beginning, middle, and end,

It’s the middle where the project is developed to it’s fullest potential,

It’s the middle where the goals and the deadlines will need to bend,

It’s the middle where failure is actually essential.

By Jo Szczepanska on Unsplash

And how do you know if your project is successful,

You will get little clues along the way,

Little moments where you can go beyond what is stressful,

And find yourself thankful for whatever comes that day.

By NSH on Unsplash

Ultimately the aim of the project isn’t the end,

But to thrive through the middle of it with a positive attitude,

If necessary being humble enough to amend,

So that when the finish line comes we can look back with nothing but gratitude.

By Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Thank you for reading my poem! If you enjoyed it, please like it and share it with your friends!

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Joyce Kay

Practicing creativity

Instagram: @joycekaywriting

Referral Link: https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=joyce

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.