Poets logo

Is it Really a Celebration?

She didn't call me on my birthday.

By Caileigh AnnePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Is it Really a Celebration?
Photo by Alex Jackman on Unsplash

She didn’t call me on my birthday, she didn’t

Bother to write me a letter, or buy me a gift. One

Year together and the single day I’m supposed to

Be celebrated, she didn’t even pretend to care.

I’m fortunate enough to have others care for me

On such a day, but none of that matters as much

As her appreciation would have. Who can I trust if

The one person expected to care the most about

Me doesn’t show any interest in my well-being?

Sometimes individuals are similar to institutions,

Only caring about a cause or another when it

Benefits them; and the moment they don’t feel that

Obligation, we are exploited and easily dispensable.

Pride month is comparable to my birthday, and

She is comparable with all forms of big government;

There are others who support you, are there for you,

But what matters most is waking up the next morning

And feeling loved by the one you consent to protect you.

The government didn’t take any action during June;

Two centuries we’ve been here and the one month

We’re supposed to be celebrated they didn’t even

Bother to show that they care; didn’t bother to change.

She told me I could tell her anything, and I foolishly

Believed her. They told us we could be out and proud,

And we foolishly believed them. Manipulation at its

Finest; they see how loving and trusting we are in the world,

Tell us to be expressive, and ultimately use our own traits against us.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.