Poets logo

Is It Better Now?

I really hope it is.

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Is It Better Now?
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Dear future me,

Are you as happy as you can be?

Or do you still stab yourself in the back

instead of giving yourself a hand?

Future me,

is darkness all you can see?

Is your life back on track?

Is it easier to understand?

I really hope it is,

because this,

this is hard.

I was happy before,

but not so much anymore.

Everything is changing

to the point of breaking.

My mind is a mess,

and my feelings are harder to express.

I don't like growing up;

I don't like having to suck it up.

Maybe it's better for you

and you figured it out

before your opening debut.

Maybe if they figure out time travel

you can come and tell me about it

before I feel completely unraveled.

Sincerely,

the newly teenage you.

social commentarysad poetry
2

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Great rhyme scheme! The last line was so satisfying! I relate to more of this than I care to admit, and still feel a lot of these complaints. Mostly about sucking it up and just being a grown up, but who doesn't feel that way? That's mostly what teenagers need to hear; you just don't stop feeling like you're unprepared for the world, or that the world you have to participate with just plainly sucks much of the time.

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    VERY poignant & well written! Adulting can be such a rollercoaster ride sometimes!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.