Poets logo

Is Forty the Key to Finding True Contentment?

Exploring the Surprising Joys of Embracing Solitude

By Emily Chan - Life and love sharingPublished 22 days ago 2 min read
2
Is Forty the Key to Finding True Contentment?
Photo by Milan Popovic on Unsplash

In the earlier age of my life days were replete with busy and bustling, leveled by its strong social interaction signified in my vivid post with pictures of work, family, and so forth.

However, when I was in my late forties, everything turned around. I was attracted to the serenity flavor and I began to adore my loneliness.

At age 40, I start to experience a deep serenity in the company of only myself. I was no longer interested in keeping up with my friends or being part of any particular group, so I accepted being by myself.

However, at times it became too quiet to the extent that I felt a bit lonely but realized that such a time should be regarded as a relaxing and preparing moment for me. I recalled it as the day when I felt like I had been longing for this my whole life.

The past was gone when one could no longer think people were looking at them or trying to show off to others.

Instead, in the new status of my life I have learned to be happier with myself during active seasons, and I use books as a means of staying in company as the moment of rest comes. The atmosphere of serenity is hence supreme today.

They say life's most beautiful things come only after loneliness. Only when I was in my forties did I understand a life is a path we experience by ourselves.

There has been, finally, peace after wandering in chaos, nevertheless, there has been a process of growth amidst these circumstances.

Previously, social media and the stresses that came with socializing were just too much. Now, I no longer get anxious being alone as I have come to contentment with basic forms of pleasure such as reading alone and casual yoga. At forty, it was not only a landmark moment, but I also began to discover myself and my growth.

I have realized that it is not the number of friends that matters but the quality of the bonds. The effectiveness is not determined by the deafening sound or the electric atmosphere we create but by the precise way we all work together to create change.

Deep solitude embodying has given me serenity as well as a higher level of appreciation for life itself.

As the years go by, I am more and more convinced that to be true to oneself is the thing that really matters, no matter what the society thinks. Alone is something I am apprehensive about; loneliness has been my refuge from which introspection and personal development spring forth.

Nowadays, the world is so hustling and bustling, but engaging in seclusion really matters. This option gives us the time to stop, think, and take delight in life's everyday pleasures.

Thank you for reading!

Mental Healthinspirationalhow toGratitudefact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Emily Chan - Life and love sharing

Blog Writer/Storyteller/Write stores and short srories.I am a writer who specializes in love,relationships and life sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dr. Jason Benskin22 days ago

    Your poem, "Is Forty the Key to Finding True Contentment," resonated deeply with me. Your exploration of the complexities of reaching a certain age and finding contentment is beautifully articulated. The introspective journey you take the reader on is both thought-provoking and enlightening. Thank you for sharing your perspective and insight through your poetry.

  • Thanks for sharing. This is super!

  • Hey, just wanna let you know that this is more suitable to be posted in the Motivation community 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.