Poets logo

Iron in Thee

As its Iron We Bleed

By Thavien YliasterPublished 27 days ago 2 min read
6
Iron in Thee
Photo by Cassi Josh on Unsplash

I like how we as writers

Proclaim the distaste for use of such bots

Yet as our words

Weave worlds

You'd figure we'd give more

Thought

To the other artists

That make imagery

But not with their words

For they use their hands

And feet as well

TO draw and paint

Make visual

What we wish to see

Yet, in our own hypocrisy

Instead of using the art and pictures

Taken

Photography

We turn to generated art

From Dalle to NightCafe

But vehemently disapprove of the generated text

I must say

That the mirror shows us our

Ugliness

But we Cower

Hiding within our cowls

As we scowl

Since most people aren't born an instant genius

A prodigy

A protégé

Most of us barely give credit

To copyright Free

Works

Till this day

Even stuff that's not free

We've used as our thumbnails

Filling our own sails

Hoping to boost us to the front page

Yet, if somebody never properly cited our works

We'd be filled with rage

Nobody on here seems to be playing the fool

Yet, when it comes to proper citations

It's like some people weren't properly taught in school

Even if they weren't to make these posts

One must have access to the internet

So, not citing the sources properly

Is it done our of maliciousness

Or Ignorance

Do we forget?

Cause people have used art and videos from smaller creators

Barely giving credit to the platform they took it from

Us complaining about unaccredited

When we don't accredit

Is sheer bafoonery

And we're being mocked at by Satyrs

For our own tomfoolery

Even larger productions

Have their work taken

Used, and

I'm not talking about fair use

From major studios such as Warner Brothers

To many others

When we see something we like,

It's like we just take it and don't chew

But take a huge bite

Out of credit that we should be giving

To proper people and places

Cause if we don't

We're the ones with egg on our faces

Now You can type,

"T.Y.

You think You're sly

As a guy

Who embeds links in his stuff all the time

the Green of envious thievery

Shows on Your skin

Much like that of a lime.

So, how Yours excuse

for committing our same type of abuse?"

For me,

Personally

I will embed links

Into the words

Of a story's page

But I won't have that video play

On my article unless it's copyright free

Permission Achieved

Or Something I made

Hence I will always advise to have a link

To Click to their content

And off of Your Page

So, in the end when it comes content

Make sure to give credit

And to have Consent

I know a lot of us have acted first

To ask for forgiveness later

So, maybe we all should

Take our own lessons

&

Repent

Thavien's Token: Originally commented on Celia in Underland's "Irony."

slam poetrysurreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryperformance poetryFree VerseFor Fun
6

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes25 days ago

    Most of my pics are either Unsplash, or my own. I've dabbled with Dall-E a few times, but usually only when I can't fund what I'm looking for on US.

  • Excellent words

  • I've never used AI-Generated art in my pieces before. I won't say I've never tried. I've tried Nightcafe many many times but I can never seem to get it to look like what I want it to. So I gave up on that hahahaha. I've definitely used pictures that I didn't give proper credit to and you called me out on that. So now I cite where I took it from, the photographer, and the link as well, in the captions. As for videos, I've only used it in one of my true crime pieces and it was one video only. I didn't add it as a hyperlink. I embedded the video so it would play in my article. It would take the person to YouTube. Is that wrong? Oh wait, my Taylor Swift piece, it has about 30 or 31 videos from YouTube. All embedded. Is that wrong?

  • Ameer Bibi27 days ago

    Excellent story I really admire your writing style that clearly describes your point of view and I really appreciate it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.